Article Text

other Versions

PDF
The Use of Impression Cytology in the Follow-up of Severe Ocular Burns
  1. Jean-Jacques Gicquel (gicquelophtha{at}aol.com),
  2. Renaud Navarre (renaud.navarre{at}gmail.com),
  3. Maria-Elena Langman (dramele2000{at}yahoo.com.ar),
  4. Alix Coulon (alix.coulon{at}hotmail.fr),
  5. Stephanie Balayre (stephbalayre{at}aol.com),
  6. Serge Milin (sergemilin{at}aol.fr),
  7. Martial Mercie (martial.mercie{at}hotmail.fr),
  8. Alexis Rossignol (rossignol.alexis{at}caramail.com),
  9. Anne Barra (anne.barra{at}yahoo.fr),
  10. Pierre-Marie Levillain (pierremarie.levillain{at}yahoo.fr),
  11. Jean-Marc Gombert (jean-marc.gombert{at}hotmail.fr),
  12. Paul Dighiero (pauldighiero{at}aol.com)
  1. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  2. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  3. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  4. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  5. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  6. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  7. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  8. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  9. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  10. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  11. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France
  12. Jean Bernard University Hospital, France

    Abstract

    Aims: To evaluate by the Impression Cytology (IC) technique the expression of the MHC class II inflammatory marker HLA-DR by the conjunctival epithelium, the cytological modifications of the conjunctival surface according to the Nelson's classification and the eventual correlation between the two of them after severe ocular burns.

    Methods: This prospective study adhered to the tenets of the Declaration of Helsinki. 24 patients (24 eyes) who presented with severe ocular burns underwent IC. We compared them with 18 healthy eyes. HLA-DR expression was studied in flow cytometry as well as the conjunctival histology evaluated with the Nelson's Classification from 2 to 24 months after the burn's onset.

    Results: There was a significant upregulation of the expression of HLA-DR compared to the healthy population at 2 months (p<0.001), 6 months (p<0.001), 12 months (p=0.019), 18 months (p=0.0171) and 24 months (p=0.01766) after burn. A significant difference was found between the Grade of Nelson in the pathological population and those of the healthy population at 2 months (p=0.0157). HLA-DR upregulation was significantly correlated with the Nelson's Grades between 2 months (r=0.69, p<0.0001) and 6 months (r = 0.61, p = 0.0001).

    Conclusion: IC technique can provide a useful tool for following-up ocular surface inflammation after severe ocular burns.

    • HLA-DR
    • Impression Cytology
    • Limbal Grafting
    • Nelson's Classification
    • Ocular Burns

    Statistics from Altmetric.com

    Request permissions

    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.