Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Intravitreal avastin for macular edmema secondary to retinal vein occlusion – a prospective study
  1. Katharina Kriechbaum (katharina.kriechbaum{at}meduniwien.ac.at),
  2. Stephan Michels (stephan.michels{at}usz.ch),
  3. Franz Prager (franz.prager{at}meduniwien.ac.at),
  4. Michael Georgopoulos (michael.georgopoulos{at}meduniwien.ac.at),
  5. Marion Funk (marion.funk{at}meduniwien.ac.at),
  6. Wolfgang Geitzenauer (wolfgang.geitzenauer{at}meduniwien.ac.at),
  7. Ursula Schmidt-Erfurth (ursula.schmidt-erfurth{at}meduniwien.ac.at)
  1. Vienna Medical University, Austria
  2. University Eye Hospital Zürich, Switzerland
  3. Vienna Medical University, Austria
  4. Vienna Medical University, Austria
  5. Vienna Medical University, Austria
  6. Vienna Medical University, Austria
  7. Vienna Medical University, Austria

    Abstract

    Abstract

    Objective: To evaluate efficacy and safety of intravitreal bevacizumab (Avastin) in eyes with macular edema secondary to central (CRVO) or branch retinal vein occlusion (BRVO).

    Methods: Twenty-eight consecutive patients (28 patients, 29 eyes, 8 CRVO, 21 BRVO) were enrolled in the study. Three intravitreal injections of 1 mg bevacizumab (0.04 ml) were administered at 4 week intervals; further retreatment was based on optical coherence tomography (OCT) findings. Follow-up examinations were done at days 1, 7 and 28, and at monthly intervals thereafter.

    Results: Baseline mean central retinal thickness (CRT) in OCT was 558 µm (range 353 to 928 µm) and mean BCVA was 20/100. One day after the first injection, CRT significantly decreased to 401 µm (p < 0.01). Three injections reduced macular edema to 328 µm CRT (p < 0.01) and improved BCVA to 20/50 (p < 0.01). At 6 month CRT was 382 µm (p < 0.01), and BCVA was stable at 20/50 -2 (p < 0.01), FA showed no evidence of increased avascular zones.

    Conclusion: Intravitreal injections of bevacizumab appear to be a safe and effective therapy in the treatment of macular edema secondary to retinal vein occlusion.

    • Retina
    • Macula
    • Treatment other
    • avastin
    • bevacizumab
    • macular edema
    • retinal vein occlusion

    Statistics from Altmetric.com

    Request permissions

    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

    Linked Articles

    • At a glance
      Harminder S Dua Arun D Singh