Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Pegaptanib sodium for neovascular age-related macular degeneration: third-year safety results of the V.I.S.I.O.N. trial
  1. Lawrence J Singerman (lsingerman{at}retina-assoc.com),
  2. Harvey Masonson (hmasonson{at}clinicaledge.com),
  3. Manju Patel (manju.patel{at}pfizer.com),
  4. Anthony P Adamis (tony.adamis{at}eyetech.com),
  5. Ronald Buggage (ronald.buggage{at}pfizer.com),
  6. Emmett Cunningham (ecunningham{at}clarusventures.com),
  7. Mauro Goldbaum (mauro.goldbaum{at}eyetech.com),
  8. Barrett Katz (katz{at}fovea-pharma.com),
  9. David Guyer (david.guyer{at}eyetech.com)
  1. Retina Associates of Cleveland, United States
  2. Clinical Edge, Inc, United States
  3. Optherion, Inc, United States
  4. Eyetech, United States
  5. Pfizer, United States
  6. Clarus Ventures, United States
  7. Eyetech, United States
  8. Fovea Pharmaceuticals, United States
  9. Eyetech, United States

    Abstract

    Aims: To evaluate the safety of up to 3 years of pegaptanib sodium therapy in the treatment of neovascular age-related macular degeneration (NV-AMD).

    Methods: Two concurrent, prospective, multicenter, double-masked studies randomized subjects with all angiographic lesion compositions of NV-AMD to receive intravitreous pegaptanib sodium (0.3, 1, 3 mg) or sham injections every 6 weeks for 54 weeks. Those initially assigned to pegaptanib were re-randomized to continue or discontinue therapy for 48 more weeks; sham-treated subjects continued sham, discontinued, or received pegaptanib. At 102 weeks, subjects receiving pegaptanib 0.3 mg or 1 mg in years 1 or 2 continued; those receiving pegaptanib 3 mg or who did not receive treatment in years 1 and 2 were re-randomized to 0.3 mg or 1 mg for year 3.

    Results: As in years 1 and 2, pegaptanib was well tolerated in year 3. Adverse events were mainly ocular in nature, mild, transient, and injection-related. Serious adverse events were rare. No evidence of systemic safety signals attributed to vascular endothelial growth factor inhibition arose in year 3. There were no findings in relation to vital signs or electrocardiogram results suggesting a relationship to pegaptanib treatment.

    Conclusion: The 3-year safety profile of pegaptanib sodium was favorable in patients with NV- AMD.

    Statistics from Altmetric.com

    Request permissions

    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

    Linked Articles

    • At a glance
      Harminder S Dua Arun D Singh