Article Text

other Versions

PDF
A cleaning solution for silicone IOLs and "sticky silicone oil"
  1. Yong Liang (yong.liang{at}med.uni-duesseldorf.de),
  2. Norbert Kociok (norbert.kociok{at}uni-duesseldorf.de),
  3. Monika Leszczuk (monika.leszczuk{at}med.uni-duesseldorf.de),
  4. Wilfried Hiebl (wilfried.hiebl{at}fluoron.de),
  5. Bastian Theisinger (bastian.theisinger{at}fluoron.de),
  6. Anja Lux (anja.lux{at}gmx.net),
  7. Antonia M Joussen (antonia.joussen{at}med.uni-duesseldorf.de)
  1. Department of Ophthalmology, Peking University, People’s Hospital, China
  2. Heinrich Heine University, Germany
  3. Department of Ophthalmology, University of Lubin, Poland
  4. Fluoron GmbH, Neu-Ulm, Germany
  5. Fluoron GmbH, Neu-Ulm, Germany
  6. Heinrich Heine University, Germany
  7. Heinrich Heine University, Germany

    Abstract

    Aims: To compare the efficacy of perfluorobutylpentane (F4H5) and perfluorohexyloctane (F6H8) in dissolving silicone oil from the surface of silicone intraocular lenses.

    Methods: Droplets of stained silicone oil were applied to an object slide either lying flat or tilted by 30°. Mixing with H2O, F4H5, or F6H8 was documented by a digital camera. Droplets of silicone oil were applied to silicone lenses and washed off by repeated rinsing with F4H5 or F6H8. A total of 11 patients with silicone lenses and silicone oil remnants on the posterior IOL surface were rinsed intraoperatively with F4H5 during removal surgery.

    Results: Only F4H5 was able to mix with silicone oil and to remove it form the surface of a glass object slides. Rinsing with 25 µl F4H5 reduced the amount of silicone oil 1000 mPas or 5000 mPas attached on a silicone lens to 15 % and 28%, respectively. A hanging droplet of silicone oil 5000 beneath a silicone lens was completely removed from below by F4H5. In all patients a sufficient IOL cleaning was possible using F4H5. There was no significant postoperative inflammation in the vitreous or anterior chamber.

    Conclusion: Polydimethylsiloxanes dissolve effectively in F4H5 due to its lipophilic chemical structure. A much smaller volume of F4H5 than F6H8 is able to completely remove silicone oil from silicone lenses. Intraocular use of F4H5 is safe and first clinical data underlines the effectiveness as a cleaning agent after contact of silicone lenses with silicone oil.

    Statistics from Altmetric.com

    Request permissions

    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

    Linked Articles

    • At a glance
      Harminder S Dua Arun D Singh