Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Ultrastructural evaluation of explanted opacified Hydroview (H60M) intraocular lenses
  1. Nathaniel E Knox Cartwright1,
  2. Eric J Mayer1,
  3. Brendan M McDonald2,
  4. Andrew Skinner3,
  5. Chris J Salter4,
  6. Derek M Tole1,
  7. John M Sparrow1,
  8. Andrew D Dick1,
  9. The Bristol IOL Study Group1,*,
  10. David J P Ferguson3
  1. 1University of Bristol, Bristol Eye Hospital, Bristol, UK
  2. 2Department of Neuropathology, Radcliffe Infirmary, Oxford, UK
  3. 3Nuffield Department of Pathology, University of Oxford, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford, UK
  4. 4OMCS, Department of Material Science, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
  1. Correspondence to: Eric J Mayer University of Bristol, Bristol Eye Hospital, Lower Maudlin Street, Bristol BS1 2LX, UK; e.mayer{at}


Aim: To describe the ultrastructural appearance of explanted opacified Hydroview H60M intraocular lenses.

Methods: 14 explanted lenses were examined by scanning electron microscopy, and their appearance compared with a non-implanted H60M lens from the same time period. Wavelength-dispersive x ray spectroscopy (WDX) was performed on two opacified lenses.

Results: Subsurface deposits were seen in all explanted opacified lenses. These deposits broke only onto the surface of more densely opacified lenses. WDX confirmed that the deposits contained both calcium and phosphorous, consistent with their being calcium apatite.

Conclusion: These findings challenge the widely accepted opinion that H60M intraocular lens opacification begins on the surface of the optic.

  • IOL, intraocular lens
  • SEM, scanning electron microscopy
  • WDX, wavelength-dispersive x ray spectroscopy

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.


  • * The Bristol IOL Study Group are C Bailey, AJ Churchill, SD Cook, JP Diamond, AD Dick, RHB Grey, MJ Greaney, RA Harrad, RJ Haynes, RHC Markham, EJ Mayer, MJ Potts, JM Sparrow, DM Tole and CE Williams.

  • Published Online First 20 September 2006

  • EJM is funded by a National Career Scientist Award from the Department of Health and NHS R&D.

  • Competing interests: None declared.