Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Anticoagulant and antiplatelet therapy during ocular surgery
  1. Andrzej Grzybowski1,2,
  2. Mark Packer3
  1. 1 Department of Ophthalmology, Poznan City Hospital, Poznań, Poland
  2. 2 University of Warmia and Mazury, Olsztyn, Poland
  3. 3 Department of Ophthalmology, Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, Oregon, USA
  1. Correspondence to Professor Andrzej Grzybowski, Department of Ophthalmology, Poznan City Hospital, ul. Szwajcarska 3, Poznań 61-285, Poland; ae.grzybowski{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

We believe that some issues presented in the article by Kiire et al 1 need to be corrected, and others deserve some further discussion.

Authors in the paragraph on cataract surgery pointed the increased risk of suprachoroidal haemorrhage in patients with high myopia, glaucoma, diabetes, atherosclerotic vascular disease or hypertension referencing to the interesting study,2 which was based only on intracapsular (ICCE) and extracapsular (ECCE) cataract extractions. Both techniques are much more traumatic and are supplemented usually with more invasive than topical form of anaesthesia, however, rarely used today. The dominant technique for cataract surgery is today phacoemulsification with implantation of foldable intraocular lenses (IOLs) through avascular clear corneal incisions under topical anaesthesia. This transformed the surgery into a lower risk procedure. Thus, …

View Full Text


  • Contributors All authors substantially contributed to the conception or design of the work, and the acquisition, analysis or interpretation of data; drafting the work and revising it critically for important intellectual content; and finally approved the version submitted.

  • Competing interests None.

  • Provenance and peer review Not commissioned; internally peer reviewed.

Linked Articles

  • PostScript
    Rajarshi Mukherjee Christine A Kiire Neil Ruparelia David Keeling Bernard Prendergast Jonathan H Norris