Table 2

Retinopathy severity grading scale14 37

Level 10No retinopathy/MA and all other lesions absent.
Level 20Minimal/mild non-proliferative retinopathy:
MAs only, or small retinal dot haemorrhages indistinguishable from MAs only; H/MA <SP1; with or without lipid exudates.
Level 30Moderate non-proliferative retinopathy:
H/MAs ⩾SP2A in only one field; or H/MAs <SP 2A with IRMA, and/or RMI both <SP 8A; VB ⩽SP6A, or >SP6A in only one vein.
Level 40Severe non-proliferative retinopathy:
H/MAs ⩾SP 2A in both fields, or if only in one field with IRMA or RMI both ⩾SP 8A; or VB >SP 6A in two veins or more.
Level 50Inactive/quiescent proliferative retinopathy:
No evidence of active new vessels cut some retinopathy changes of level 20–30 changes possible as well as fibrous proliferation with photocoagulation scars either in scatter or confluent patches (panretinal photocoagulation).
Level 60Active proliferative retinopathy:
New vessels on the disc and/or the retina with or without scars of photocoagulation.
  • MA=microaneurysm; H=haemorrhage; SP=standard photograph (ETDRS)37; RMI=retinal microinfarct; IRMA= intraretinal microvascular abnormalities; VB=venous beading.